The first 100 members lock 40% off. For life.Claim yours →
Why RealTake beats both

Opus Clip vs Captions: one clips, one captions, and RealTake finishes the video either way

Opus Clip cuts a long video into reframed clips. Captions adds captions and effects to a short one, on credits. Both hand you something that still needs finishing. RealTake takes a long recording or a short one and hands back a finished video: cuts, captions, title, b-roll, graphics, sound, posted or scheduled to LinkedIn, TikTok, Instagram and YouTube.

The short answer

Opus Clip and Captions do different halves of the job and neither finishes it. Opus Clip finds moments in a long video and reframes them; Captions captions and styles a short one and meters every action in credits. RealTake does both ends, picks moments with a reason, finishes every video, and posts it.

  • Long video or short, one toolRealTake Clips finds the moments; the same Director finishes a single talking video. Nothing goes to a second app.
  • Pay for what you makeSource minutes are in the plan and credits go on the videos you make. No credit meter running while you work.
  • Finished, then postedCaptions, b-roll, titles, graphics and sound on every video. Post now or schedule to four platforms, on every plan.

Checked against opus.pro and captions.ai on October 28, 2026.

Why RealTake is better · 1

Two half-finished videos, or one finished one

Why RealTake is better · 2

One Director for the long recording and the short one

Drop in a podcast episode and RealTake Clips proposes the moments worth posting, each with a plain-English reason and no virality score. Pick them, trim them, or clip any part yourself. Drop in a single talking video and the same Director plans the whole edit. Either way the result is the same finished video: cuts labeled and reversible, captions word by word, title in the first second, b-roll, 200+ motion graphics, sound.

  • Moments with reasons, or your own clips from the timeline or a transcript tap on your phone
  • Formats, not templates: fresh styles every week
  • Open the Studio if you want to change anything. Nothing renders until you press Continue, and changes before render cost nothing
How the Studio works →
Why RealTake is better · 2

Six things neither Opus Clip nor Captions does

Opus Clip reframes. Captions captions. RealTake finishes, on every plan, every time.

Moments with reasons, and your own

Clips proposes moments that keep the setup and the payoff together, each with the reason it works. Trim any, make your own from the timeline, or ask for more on a topic.

Multi-camera, synced for you

Drop every person’s camera and mic file at once. They line up by their audio, leaked voice from the other mic is removed, and Auto layout follows the conversation.

B-roll and graphics that never cover your face

Stock, generated and your own indexed footage, placed when you mention it. Titles and 200+ motion graphics land clear of you; auto-reframe always keeps you in the frame.

Formats, not templates

One choice sets captions, titles, graphics, camera moves and sound for the whole video, built from the formats working on social right now. Fresh styles every week.

Pay for what you make

Source minutes are in the plan. Credits go on the videos and clips you make, with the cost shown first. No meter running while you fix a caption.

Post or schedule from the same page

LinkedIn, TikTok, Instagram and YouTube, now or on a schedule, on every plan. See how each video did without leaving.

Every finished video comes with editor’s notes: the edits made, the editing time saved, a score for hook, content and pacing, and one thing to try next time.

Opus Clip vs Captions vs RealTake, feature by feature

RealTakeOpus ClipCaptions
What it doesLong recording to finished clips, and a single video to a finished videoLong video to reframed clipsShort video to a captioned, styled cut
Long video to clipsYes. Moments with reasons, manual clipping, multi-camYes, with a virality scoreClip creation listed on Max; details not stated
Single talking videoYes. The Director plans the whole editReframe and captionsAI Edit, on credits; users report ignored instructions
Who decides the editA Director, with a reason for every cut; you approveA scoring algorithmA template and your prompt
What you pay forThe videos and clips you make, source minutes includedEvery minute imported, kept or notCredits per action; users report two videos to empty
ExportIncluded, every planIncludedUsers report being asked to pay at export
PostingLinkedIn, TikTok, Instagram, YouTube, now or scheduled, every planAuto-posting; scheduler on Pro onlyNot stated on its pricing page
StylesFresh styles every week. Formats, not templatesCaption templatesAI Edit styles and caption templates
BillingReminder before renewal; cancel any time; failed renders not chargedUsers report charges after cancellingUsers report charges after cancelling

Opus Clip and Captions features and prices from opus.pro and captions.ai, their help docs and public reviews, read October 28, 2026.

Why RealTake is better · 3

RealTake vs Opus Clip vs Captions pricing: one plan that includes the finishing

Opus Clip meters the minutes you import. Captions meters every action in credits. RealTake includes source minutes and sells finished videos. Prices read on opus.pro and captions.ai on October 28, 2026.

Opus Clip

Credits, one per source minute

Free60 credits60 source minutes$0
Starter$15 a month150 source minutes10¢ a minute
Pro$29 a month, $14.50 billed yearly300 source minutes10¢ a minute
  • !Spent on import, whether or not a clip is worth keeping
  • !Unused credits expire
  • !AI b-roll, scheduler, multi-aspect on Pro only
Captions

Credits per action, iOS pricing

Freeno creditsBasic tools, 1 caption template$0
Max$24.99 a month500 creditsper action
Frontierhigher tiersfrom 1,400 creditsper action
  • !“Went thru my credits in 2 short videos”
  • !Prices shown are for iOS plans only
  • !Users report paying again at export
RealTake

Finished videos included. Every feature on every plan.

Starter$05 finished videos a month, watermarked$0
Presence$49 a month, $29 billed yearlyaround 16–32 finished videosevery feature
Authority$99 a month, $59 billed yearlyaround 38–76 finished videosevery feature
Empire$249 a month, $149 billed yearlyaround 107–213 finished videosevery feature
  • ✓A finished video means cuts, captions, titles, b-roll, graphics, sound and camera moves, done for you
  • ✓Every feature on every plan. Nothing moved behind a higher tier
  • ✓You see the cost before render. Changes in the Studio before render cost nothing
  • ✓Reminder email before any renewal. Cancel any time. Failed renders are never charged
  • ✓Clips: 600, 1,500 or 4,000 source minutes a month on paid plans; credits only on the clips you make
1tool for the long recording and the short one, with the finishing included
0credits spent before you have seen the moments or the edit
4platforms you can post or schedule to from every plan

RealTake, by the numbers

3 hlongest recording for Clips on paid plans
29caption presets, every word editable
200+motion graphics, matched to what you say
0virality scores, on purpose
Why RealTake is better · 4

Videos that go out looking like this, long recording or short

Every one of these is one upload: cuts, captions, title, b-roll, graphics and sound, in a style built from what is working on social right now.

Upload a recording, long or short, and see it finished in minutes.
Free plan: 5 watermarked videos a month. No credit card.

See your first video — free
The verdict

Who should switch: whichever one you were leaning towards

If you were leaning Opus Clip

You have long recordings and want clips. RealTake Clips finds the moments with a reason instead of a score, lets you clip any part yourself, syncs two cameras by their audio, and hands back finished clips instead of reframed cuts. Credits go on the clips you make, not the minutes you upload.

  • Moments that keep the setup and the payoff together
  • Manual clipping, the feature Opus users keep voting for
  • Better rates at volume: 6¢ a source minute on Empire against Opus Pro’s 10¢

If you were leaning Captions

You record short videos and want them edited. RealTake plans the whole edit, not a caption layer: cuts, captions, title, b-roll, graphics, sound, in a fresh style every week. No credit meter while you work, no charge at export, every feature on every plan.

  • Review in the Studio first if you want; changes before render cost nothing
  • Post or schedule to four platforms from the same page
  • Works in the browser on your phone. Nothing to install
See your first video — free
Sources

Where the Opus Clip and Captions facts come from

Their own websites, help docs, feature boards and public reviews, read October 28, 2026. RealTake facts are on our pricing and features pages.

FAQs

Is RealTake cheaper than Opus Clip or Captions?
Per month, no: RealTake Presence is $49 against Opus Clip Starter at $15 and Captions Max at $24.99. Per unit of work, the comparison changes. Presence includes 600 source minutes for Clips and around 16 to 32 finished videos with every feature, while Opus Clip spends a credit on every imported minute and Captions users report two short videos emptying a month of credits.
Which is better for podcasts, Opus Clip or Captions?
Opus Clip is built for clipping and Captions for single short videos, so for a podcast the search usually lands on Opus Clip. RealTake Clips does the same job with moments that carry a reason, manual clipping, two-camera sync by audio, and finished clips that post or schedule from RealTake.
Which is better for talking-head videos, Opus Clip or Captions?
Captions, of the two. RealTake plans the whole edit of a talking video, not a caption layer: cuts with reasons, captions word by word, a title in the first second, b-roll, motion graphics and sound, then posts it.
Does RealTake clip long videos like Opus Clip?
Yes. RealTake Clips takes a recording up to 3 hours, from an upload up to 20 GB or a Google Drive or Dropbox link, proposes moments with a reason, and lets you clip any part yourself. Each clip runs up to 2 minutes in 9:16, 4:5, 1:1 or 16:9.
Does RealTake run out of credits like Captions?
Credits are spent on the videos and clips you make, and the cost is shown before anything renders. Fixing a caption, swapping b-roll or trimming a cut in the Studio before render costs nothing.
Can I post from RealTake like Opus Clip?
Yes, and from every plan: LinkedIn, TikTok, Instagram and YouTube, now or on a schedule. Opus Clip lists its scheduler on Pro only; Captions does not state posting on its pricing page.
When were these prices and features checked?
October 28, 2026, on opus.pro, captions.ai, their help docs and public review pages. Plans change, so confirm on their pricing pages before you buy.

Long recording or short, the finished video is one upload away.

Drop it in and see it edited, free.

See your first video — freeFree plan: 5 watermarked videos a month · no credit card